A Landing a Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Farwell, Texas (and Texico, New Mexico)

Posted by graywacke on January 29, 2009

First time here and don’t know who “Dan” is?  Check out “About Landing,” above.

Dan –  I landed right near the border between two big USers – I just missed NM, and instead (preferably), landed in . . . TX; 111/144; 5/10; 10; 165.8.  I’m always amazed at just how OS TX is!   Similar to previous pronouncements:  If I landed in TX for 33 straight landings, it would still be OS!!  It’s almost enough to make me think there’s something less than random about my landings.  But I’ve checked and double checked, and the only explanation is the flukiness of randomness (I guess).

For the second time, I landed in the Blackwater Draw watershed, on to the Yellow Horse Draw (3rd hit); on to the North Fork of the Double Mountain Fork of the Brazos River (phew!) (3rd hit); on to the Double Mountain Fork of the Brazos River (4th hit); on to the Brazos (19th hit).

I know it’s my custom to abbreviate, so I would normally have said “N Fk Dbl Mtn Fk Brazos R (and in fact, that’s what I have on my spreadsheet).  But I somehow enjoyed spelling the whole thing out!

So I landed just west of the twin cities of Farwell/Texico, located in TX/NM, respectively, pop 1400/1100, likewise respectively.  Saying “Farwell Texas” out loud isn’t anything special, but try “Texico New Mexico!”  Now that has a ring to it.  Here’s a map:

 landing

The yellow line in the above map is the NM/TX state line.  Here’s a broader view:

 farwell

Did you know that Texico is a portmanteau?  (As are Texarkana and Delmarva.)  Here’s the definition of “portmanteau” :

A portmanteau is a word that fuses two or more words or morphemes to give a combined or loaded meaning.  Examples of portmanteaux are spork from spoon and fork, or guestimate from guess and estimate.

Are you kidding me?  Now I must check out “morpheme.”  Sounds like a drug . . .but it’s not:

a morpheme is the smallest lingual unit that carries a semantic interpretation.

How about “portmanteaux” as the plural of “portmanteau.”  Cool, eh?  Here’s some info on the origin of the word “portmanteau:”

This usage of the word was coined by Lewis Carroll in Through the Looking-Glass (1871). In the book, Humpty Dumpty explains to Alice about the nonsense words from Jabberwocky, saying, “Well, slithy means lithe and slimy … You see it’s like a portmanteau-there are two meanings packed up into one word.”  Carroll often used such words to humorous effect in his works.

Portemanteau, from Middle French porte (carry) and manteau (a coat or cover), formerly referred to a large travelling bag or suitcase with two compartments, hence the linguistic idea of fusing two words and their meanings into one.

Here are a few other border-town portmanteaux: 

Calexico; Florala; Illiana; Kanorado; Kentuckiana; Michiana; Monida; Tennga; and Virgilina.  We Americans can be so corny.   So Dan – we live near plenty of NJ/PA border towns – shouldn’t one be renamed Pennsyljersey or Jerseyvania?

OK, enough about portmanteaux!!   Moving right along, it turns out that both Texico, New Mexico (I like to say that!) and Farwell are pretty-much GD.  So, all I have are a few pictures of some interest.

Yesterday, I showed you the pretty courthouse in Zebulon.  Not to be outdone, here’s the Parmer County courthouse in Farwell:

 farwelltexasparmercountycourthouse

Here’s a picture of the Parmer County Prison.  To be fair, I should try to find a picture of the Pike County prison in Zebulon (but I won’t).  Anyway, this building won’t win any architecture awards (but I suspect it’s a crime deterrent to the youth of Farwell.  When they drive by, they might say something like:  “Dude – what a creepy building – I never want to get stuck there . . .”)

parmercountyjailfarwelltx

Moving over to Texico New Mexico, here’s a picture of a funky defunct museum:

 museum_copyright

And this artsy shot of some railroad tracks:

 36292542_texiconm_pb800

That’ll do it . . .

KS

Greg

 

© 2009 A Landing A Day

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

