A Landing a Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Sentinel and Retrop, Oklahoma

Posted by graywacke on January 22, 2011

First timer?  In this formerly once-a-day blog (then every-other-day blog and now a one-to-three-times a week blog), I have my computer select a random latitude and longitude that puts me somewhere in the continental United States (the lower 48).  I call this “landing.”  I keep track of the watersheds I land in, as well as the town I land near.  I do some internet research to hopefully find something of interest about my landing location.  To find out more about A Landing A Day (like who “Dan” is and what the various numbers and abbreviations mean), please see “About Landing,” (and “Abbreviations” and “Cryptic Numbers”) above.

Dan –  I could use a nice 3/3 about now, but instead, I’m mired in a 6/19, with my latest OSer . . . OK; 54/44; 4/10; 1; 157.1.  Here’s my landing map, showing my proximity to Sentinel and a town with a fascinating name – Retrop:


Hint about the name Retrop.  If “redrum” rings a bell from “The Shining,” you’ll be able to figure out Retrop.

Here’s a broader view:


I landed in the watershed of the Elk Ck (my 11th stream name with “elk” or “elkhorn” in it; more specifically, my 6th “Elk Creek); on to the N Fk of the Red R (3rd hit); to the Red R (49th hit); to the Atchafalaya (56th hit).

Here’s my GE view, showing that I landed in a farm field:


Here’s a StreetView shot, showing where the north-south road crosses Elk Ck about 1.5 mi east of my landing:


I couldn’t much of particular interest about Sentinel.  (As always, this is when I hasten to add that I’m sure that Sentinel is a fine little town!)  It was founded around the turn of the century, and was named “Sentinel” after a newspaper, the Herald-Sentinel.  The maximum population of Sentinel was in 1930 (1,269).  The 2000 population was 859.

I found quite the real estate bargain in Sentinel – this house, at 512 S 2nd Street (3 bedrooms, 2 baths) is on the market for $25,000.  Who knows?  They might accept a lower offer . . .


Moving over to Retrop, from Wiki:

Retrop is a small Oklahoma community, which was named after an original community (Old Retrop), which is one mile south and one mile east near the Retrop Cemetery. The Retrop Post Office (located at Old Retrop) existed from January 12, 1900, until February 28, 1905.

The name is a reverse spelling of the surname of the first postmaster, Ira J. Porter.  [It turns out he tried to name the town “Porter” but the name was already taken.]

From RedRiverHistorian.com is this picture of an old store in Old Retrop:


Here’s some additional information from the same website:

Though the post office had been abandoned by 1905, Retrop still maintained a general store [see above picture], school, and several residences. Like many other Oklahoma towns, Retrop lived through hard times during the Dust Bowl years. By the mid 1940s, the town’s store had closed.

Today, two locations mark the location of Retrop. The newer community lies at the junction of Oklahoma highways 6 and 55. Old Retrop sits a mile off of the highways, its abandoned houses standing in silent testimony of the little town it once was.

I’ll close with this shot from Retrop (also from RedRiverHistorian.com), entitled “Ghost Buick:”


That’ll do it. . .

KS

Greg

© 2011 A Landing A Day

Leave a Reply

 
