A Landing a Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Beeville (and surrounding small towns), Texas

Posted by graywacke on October 22, 2015

First timer?  In this formerly once-a-day blog (and now pretty much a once-every-three-or-four days blog), I have my computer select a random latitude and longitude that puts me somewhere in the continental United States (the lower 48).  I call this “landing.”  I keep track of the watersheds I land in, as well as the town I land near.  I do some internet research to hopefully find something of interest about my landing location.  To find out more about A Landing A Day (like who “Dan” is) please see “About Landin above.

Landing number 2220; A Landing A Day blog post number 648.

Dan:  After landing in TX what do I do?  I land again in . . . TX!   This is my 56th double (same state twice in a row), and the 8th for TX (not surprisingly, TX ranks first in doubles).  Of additional (minor) interest — of my last ten landings, I have two Texas landings, two Iowa landings, two Michigan landings and two Utah landings.  

Anyway, here’s my regional landing map:

landing 1

And my local landing map:

landing 2

My watershed analysis is straightforward:

landing 3

As you can see, I landed in the Medio Creek watershed, on to the Mission River (3rd hit); on to the Gulf of Mexico.

It’s time for my Google Earth (GE) spaceflight in to S Texas (click on the link, and hit the back button after viewing):

//screencast-o-matic.com/embed?sc=cojtY5fpbb&w=820&v=3

Here’s my map showing Street View coverage:

GE SV landing map

 

And here’s what the orange dude sees:

GE SV landing

To give you a greater appreciation of the ruralness of the area, I had him turn his head to look east down the road:

GE SV landing looking east

Dutifully, I checked out all of the towns on my local landing map, and unfortunately I must say that this entire area is:

aa-hookless

 

But I must write about something, so I’ll start with Beeville, it being far and away the largest town (pop 13,000) near my landing.  But aside from the mildly interesting fact that it was named after Barnard Bee who was Secretary of State and Secretary of War for the Republic of Texas, which was a sovereign country from 1836 to 1846, there’s nothing of hook-worthy interest. 

Normanna has an interesting name origin (from Texas Escapes):

Norwegian immigrants moved into the area in 1893.  The name Normanna loosely translates as “the place of Norsemen” but closer to the true meaning is “far North.” Seeing that’s where the original settlers were from, the name was appropriate.

Families descended from the original Norwegian settlers still live in the area.

I’ve never heard of Scandinavian settlers in Texas . . .

So (according to Wiki), Tuleta was named by the Mennonite founder of the town after the daughter of the man from whom he bought the land for the town . . .

Nothing at all to say about Pettus . . .

As for Pawnee, according to the Texas State Historical Society:   “It reportedly was named for a board inscribed “Pawnee” and nailed to a tree by travelers; apparently arrowheads found in nearby Sulphur Creek suggested that Pawnee Indians had once used the area.”

So that leaves Mineral.  From Texas Escapes (History in a Pecan Shell):

In 1877, Mineral was simply a tract of land with settlers digging a water well. When they found their well water wasn’t fit to drink, they had it analyzed. It revealed 16 different minerals in the water and the world soon beat a path to what fast became a town. The town was known as Mineral City, and everyone showed up wanting to soak in the waters.

A hotel, stores, churches and a drugstore were soon built and Mineral City became a town. In 1889, they deepened the well and the mineral content dropped dramatically.

[Don’t you just hate it when you deepen a well, and the town loses its major source of income?]

Sometime prior to 1895 the word “City” was dropped from Mineral City’s post office name. The hotel disappeared – probably becoming someone’s private residence.

In 1890 the population was 100 people. They had a fire in 1901 and had barely recovered when there was a flood in 1903.

Phew.  A truly hookless post.  Anyway, it’s time for some GE Panoramio shots.  I’ll start with this one by Bride Hunting Texas entitled “Normanna Through Truss 1897,” which I assume is a railroad bridge where the tracks were removed:

pano bridgehunting texas

I’ll close with this shot by Mac Evans, taken, appropriately enough, in Beeville:

pano mac evans

That’ll do it . . .

KS

Greg

 

© 2015 A Landing A Day

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

 
