A Landing a Day

A geography blog where random is king . . .

Climax, Colorado

Posted by graywacke on March 6, 2009

First timer? In this once-a-day blog, I have my computer select a random latitude and longitude that puts me somewhere in the continental United States (the lower 48). I call this “landing.” I keep track of the watersheds I land in, as well as the town I land near. I do some internet research to hopefully find something of interest about my landing location. To find out more about A Landing A Day (like who “Dan” is and what the various numbers and abbreviations mean), please see “About Landing,” above.

Dan –  This is pretty funny.  Remember just a couple of days ago when I mentioned that CO and WA were no longer US?  Well, I may have jinxed myself, because today I landed in . . . CO; 56/57 (still US by a whisker!); 4/10; 10; 167.2.  Although I’m right near the Continental Divide, I made the call that the water flows to the west toward a new river, the E Fk of the Eagle.  The E Fk of the Eagle flows to another new river!  You’ll never guess:  the Eagle.  The Eagle then flows into the Colorado . . .

Here’s my landing map:

landing3

As you see, I landed near Climax and Kokomo.  Here’s a broader view.  My landing is right in the middle of the state (lat 39 / long 106). 

landing21

So, Climax?  From Wiki:

Climax was an unincorporated mining village with a former U.S. Post Office.  Climax was known for its large molybdenum ore deposit.  Climax is now an uninhabited ghost town, located along the Continental Divide at an elevation of about 11,360 feet.

It holds the distinction of being the highest human settlement in the United States, and it holds the record for having had the country’s highest Post Office and the highest railroad station.  After the mine shut down in the mid-1960s, the residential houses were all transported to the West Park subdivision of Leadville, Colorado, leaving only the mining buildings standing.

As I mentioned previously, my landing is close to the continental divide.  In fact, I’ve prepared a map that shows the divide (and was able to straight-faced put the divide exactly through my landing location.)  Is that absolutely true?  I don’t know, but I know that I’m awfully close.  As I mentioned earlier, I assume that I’m actually on the west side of the divide . . .

continental-divide

Climax’s reason for being and its “claim to fame” is its huge deposit of molybdenum ore.  The Climax Mine was the largest molybdenum mine in the world, and for many years (in the first half of the 20th century) it supplied three-fourths of the world’s supply of the metal.

So, what’s molybdenum and why the demand?  From Wiki:

Molybdenum (from the Greek word for the metal “lead“), is a chemical element with the symbol Mo and atomic number 42. It has the eighth-highest melting point of any element.  The ability of molybdenum to withstand extreme temperatures without significantly expanding or softening makes it useful in applications that involve intense heat, including the manufacture of aircraft parts, electrical contacts, industrial motors, and filaments.  Most high-strength steel alloys are .25% to 8% molybdenum.

Here’s a shot of Climax back in the day (1917).  Note that the sign says that the elevation is 11,313 feet.

 a_history_image_climax-1917

Here’s a shot of a family that lived in Kokomo, which was a residential community for the Climax Mine:

 jjmcormondclan2-kokomo

What’s with the striped outfits for the boys!?!  I showed this to my wife, Jody, and she said that the mom had some left over fabric from making curtains, and the boys were the big losers . . .

Here’s a winter shot of the mine today:

 climax1

I’ll end with a couple of beautiful scenery shots taken near Climax:

 mayflower-gulch

 near-climax

 KS

Greg

© 2009 A Landing A Day

2 Responses to “Climax, Colorado”

  1. Dick Dougherty said

    I was born in Leadville, CO (1947) and lived in both Climax and Kokomo, CO. Some of the info given in this post is not totally accurate. The mine in Climax did not shut down in the 60’s, in fact it was at its peak in the 60’s and 70’s. All of the housing for the ‘company town’ of Climax was moved to Leadville in the early 60’s allowing the company to expand its operations. Later, the town of Kokomo was purchased by AMAX (American Metals Climax) to allow for the expansion of its tailings (mine waste).

    • Peggy Harnish said

      Dick: Thank you for giving true information about Climax. You probably don’t remember me, but my family lived in the south unit of the duplex on 5th Street when your family lived in the north unit. Lynne and Susan are closer to my age. I am working on a database of everyone ever connected to the Max Schott School and will soon start work on a database of Climax employees along with Joanne Gray and Lynn Tinkle. Do you remember where your dad worked? My Dad worked in Assaying in the Mill Department and my Uncle Chuck was a shift boss underground. I worked in the Mill Department, Safety, and the Mine Department, among others, from 1976 to 1987, so I can attest that the mine did not close down in the 60’s.
      Peggy Harnish

Leave a comment