A Landing a Day

A geography blog where random is king . . .

Butte Valley, Nevada

Posted by graywacke on August 18, 2015

First timer?  In this formerly once-a-day blog (and now pretty much a once-every-three-or-four days blog), I have my computer select a random latitude and longitude that puts me somewhere in the continental United States (the lower 48).  I call this “landing.”  I keep track of the watersheds I land in, as well as the town I land near.  I do some internet research to hopefully find something of interest about my landing location.  To find out more about A Landing A Day (like who “Dan” is and what the various numbers and abbreviations mean in the first paragraph), please see “About Landing,” (and “Abbreviations” and “Cryptic Numbers”) above.

Landing number 2205; A Landing A Day blog post number 633.

Dan:  This is getting so ridiculous that even I am wondering about the randomness of the Microsoft Excel Random Number Generator, thanks to yet another OSer landing in . . . NV; 93/80; 4/10; 2; 150.4.  I won’t bore you with the statistical analysis.  Let me just say that I’ve had enough NV and UT landings to last me for the next, oh, say 100 landings . . .

Here’s my regional landing map:

landing 1

And my “local” landing map:

landing 2

AYKM?  One hundred miles of nothing!?!

Here’s my Google Earth (GE) spaceflight in (click on the link and then hit the back button after viewing):

//screencast-o-matic.com/embed?sc=co1oYKfFuE&w=784&v=3

Here’s a static GE shot showing that I landed in Butte Valley:

ge 2 straight down

My drainage analysis is simple:  Butte Valley, Internal.

Here’s an oblique GE shot looking southwest:

ge 1 looking sw

To get a nice feel for the valley, check out this video that tells us that Butte Valley Ranch is for sale (7,300 acres for $6.5 million):

 

A little research, and I stumbled on the fact that a glacial-era lake once existed in the valley.  It is called Gale Lake and was about 75 feet deep.  Here’s a broad map showing most of Nevada and the glacial-era lakes:

nv lakes

Here’s a close-up of Lake Gale:

lake gale

You can tell I’m not very inspired.  I’m not going to talk geology.  I’m not going to talk history.  Harumpf.  In fact, I’m simply going to close this post with several Butte Valley Panoramio shots by my good buddy Ralph Maughan  (OK, he’s not my good buddy, but I’ve certainly featured many of his shots in my posts). Here’s a cool shot from several miles northeast of my landing, looking to the northwest (using a telephoto lens):

pano ralph maughan looking n

Here’s a shot closer to my landing (still north), looking west across Butte Valley:

pano ralph maughan n butte valley

Here’s a shot from the southern end of the valley:

pano ralph maughan S butte valley

I’ll close with this sunset shot, once again looking west from north of my landing.

pano ralph maughan sunset

That’ll do it . . .

KS

Greg

 

© 2015 A Landing A Day

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Butte Valley, Nevada”

  1. Beautiful Sunset!!

Leave a comment