A Landing a Day

A geography blog where random is king . . .

Morenci, Arizona

Posted by graywacke on August 3, 2010

First timer?  In this formerly once-a-day blog (then every-other-day blog and now a two-or-three-times a week blog), I have my computer select a random latitude and longitude that puts me somewhere in the continental United States (the lower 48).  I call this “landing.”  I keep track of the watersheds I land in, as well as the town I land near.  I do some internet research to hopefully find something of interest about my landing location.  To find out more about A Landing A Day (like who “Dan” is and what the various numbers and abbreviations mean), please see “About Landing,” (and “Abbreviations” and “Cryptic Numbers”) above.

Dan –  The curse continues with yet another western OSer . . . AZ; 79/71; 1/10 (1/13); 13; 155.6  —  highest Score since last November (last post, it was “December”).   It seems like 150 is now months away . . .

Here’s my landing map, showing my proximity to that ugly tangle of rail lines that is the well known (for me, at least) town of Morenci (actually, the Morenci copper mine):


I’ve been to Morenci, and remember it fairly well.  It was the spring of ’72 (spring break, actually), and I was on a geology field trip with my Lafayette College geology classmates.  We were touring the southwest in a caravan of five RVs.  After visiting El Paso TX (the far western tip of the state) and Carlsbad NM, we headed over to AZ and checked out the massive copper mine at Morenci.  I even have a mineral specimen that I collected there (which is, I think, a pretty lousy specimen of malachite, a copper carbonate mineral).  I just pulled the rock out of the box it has been in for decades, and put it on the bench on our lower back deck (you know exactly where I mean, Dan) and took this picture:


Back to the landing – here’s a broader view:


Here’s my GE shot, showing a fairly rugged-looking wilderness:


The stream that’s apparent to the southwest of my landing is Bonita Creek.  Bonita Creek flows southeast where it hooks up with the Gila R (35th hit); on to the Colorado (156th hit).

Here’s an oblique GE shot, looking southwest and showing some real topographic drama:


From the Greenlee County website, about Morenci:

The first mineral discoveries in the Clifton-Morenci District were made around 1856 when a group of California volunteers pursuing renegade Apache Indians came through the area and wrote about the colorful mineral outcrops. In 1872 a group of soldiers from New Mexico were once again pursuing renegade Indians, and they also noticed the colorful rocks.  They later returned to the area searching for placer gold. Although very little gold was found, they located the copper deposits which later become the mines around the town of Metcalf and Morenci.

I find the above use of the word “renegade” annoying.  Anyway, from Wiki:

Morenci’s population was 1,879 at the 2000 census. The biggest employer in Morenci is Freeport-McMoRan, the owner of the Morenci Mine, the largest copper mining operation in North America, and one of the largest copper mines in the world.

The economy of Morenci as well as that of the surrounding area is almost completely dependent on the Morenci Mine.  Between 2003 and 2008, the worldwide rise in copper prices led the mine to double its work force to 4,000 employees, and increase production by 55 percent to an average of one million tons of ore per day.

Several hundred new homes were built, leading to a boom in the construction industry.  All the homes in Morenci, new and old, remain owned by Freeport-McMoRan.

Hmmm.  Sounds like the population is up a little from the 1,879 back in 2000.  Also – quite the company town, eh?

Anyway, as usual, I spent some time trying to figure out the origin of the name “Morenci.”  I finally found an obscure reference to the fact that Morenci AZ was named after Morenci MI.  So, on to Michigan I go.  This, from the State Line Observer (a weekly newspaper serving the border area between Ohio & Michigan), about the origin of the Michigan town’s name:

In 1833 a small settlement was established in the wilderness along Bean Creek. The name given to this settlement was Brighton. However, it was discovered that another community of pioneers to the north in the territory had prior claim to the name. There has been some controversy as to how the name “Morenci” was selected.  Some say it was an Indian name but others believe that it was taken from the name “Mount Morency” and the ‘y’ changed to ‘i.’

The Indian name seems bogus to me (although not impossible).  A little research, then, on “Mount Morency.”  Well, I found out that there’s a “Montmorency County,” in, of all places, Michigan (as well as a Mount Morency in Quebec).  The town of Morenci is in the far southeast part of the state and the county is in the far northeast, but let me continue.  This, from Wiki about Montmorency County:

Montmorency County is a county in the U.S. state of Michigan.   In 1840, it was first named “Cheonoquet” after a well known Chippewa.   In 1843, the county was renamed for the Count Morenci, who aided the colonies in the war with England. The county was organized in 1881. The reason for the change in spelling is subject to some dispute.  See List of Michigan county name etymologies.

I could have left it here, satisfied that the county (and likely the town) were named after the good Count Morenci, what with the correct spelling and all.  But, I couldn’t resist clicking on the link to the list of Michigan county name etymologies.  Here’s what that said about the origin of the name Montmorency:

Named for the House of Montmorency,  influential in the history of French Canada.

Gee whiz.  So I clicked on the House of Montmorency, and here’s what I learned:

Montmorency, the name of one of the oldest and most distinguished families in France, derived from the city of Montmorency, about 9 miles northwest of Paris.

So I’m left with two leading candidates:  Count Morenci vs. the French city of Montmorency.  The Indian name (in my opinion) comes in a weak third.

I Googled “Count Morenci,” and, interestingly, the only Google references circle back to the naming of Montmorency County!  There was not a single reference to the actual dude who supposedly “aided the colonies in the war with England.”  In fact, that very phrase in quotes was used in every citation!  Based on this painstaking analysis, I conclude that Count Morenci is a fake, a fraud!!  And that Montmorency is the true origin of both the name of the County and town in Michigan, the mountain in Quebec and therefore, the town and mine in Arizona.

Phew.  Strangely, I kind of enjoyed the search.  Likely, you’re a little bored.  Oh, well . . .

Back to Morenci AZ.  Here’s a picture of the massive open-pit mine:


Here’s a shot looking north on Rt 191 out of Morenci.  Since I did most of the driving in my RV (back in 1972), I was likely behind the wheel, driving on this very road, looking at this very scene!  (OK, so this is a little more exciting for me than for you . . .).  Note the lack of a guardrail!


Getting closer to my landing spot, I’ll close with some pictures taken just south of my landing (and far from the surreal Morenci landscape).  First, this picture from Midnight Canyon:


And then, this abandoned house:


That’ll do it. . .

KS

Greg

© 2010 A Landing A Day

15 Responses to “Morenci, Arizona”

  1. Beverly Hermes said

    Never “bored” by your remarks, Greg. Fascinated would be the correct word. :>) bh

  2. L White said

    We were on the way home from NM and passed by the terrain you have mentioned on the way to Safford. I have never seen such ugly, desolate country. I wonder what happened? Is it because of the mining in the area? The road we were on is the 191 from Junction 75/78 going SW towards the 70 and Safford. It looked like an ecological disaster had occured!

    • graywacke said

      L – I haven’t a clue. If the mining (or any man-made activity) has caused obvious ecological distress, I’d like to think that the NM Environmental Department would be on the case and doing something about it!

      Greg

  3. Morenci said

    Enjoyed reading about Morenci. I have visited the town of Morenci, Arizona. My father worked there and at Clifton and liked the names. If I would have been a boy, I would have been named Clifton.

    Morenci C. Williams-Rhodes

    • graywacke said

      Morenci – I love your name and the way you got it! (I hope you do).

      Thanks much for your comment –

      Greg

    • graywacke said

      Morenci – I just reviewed the post, and realized all of the legwork I did concerning the origin of the name Morenci. I hope you learned something about your name!!!

      Greg

  4. Morenci said

    Hi Greg-I do like my name and it’s history. Yes, I did learn something new from all your efforts. I named my second daughter, Morenci. My name is quite a conversation starter; most people here in Tucson know it is a town in AZ and those that don’t want to know how I came to be named after an AZ town. I visited Morenci when I was 9 or 10 years old and it was quite special to see my name every where. My father bought a Morenci Wildcats t-shirt for me and I still have (in storage). Wonderful turquoise is found in Morenci. I like to think that they named the town after me 😉

  5. Morenci said

    P. S.

    My license plate is: Morenci

    It makes it a lot easier to find my car in a crowded parking lot.

  6. Robert Dennis said

    That 1,879 population figure for Morenci is bogus. It is bigger than Clifton is. That is obvious just by driving around the two towns.

  7. Art said

    Recheck you origins, if Morenci Mi. was established in 1833 and Montmorency was established in 1843 then the origins of need to be changed. As it is impossible to be named Morenci, MI first and then be attributed to a later date to make sense in you mind for correctness as being named after Count Morenci or such. I have heard it as a Indian name that was real or possibly one of the naming of Henry Schoolcraft neologism. Just more fuel for thought.

    • graywacke said

      Art: This is the post that never dies! Actually, I’m happy about that. Anyway, you made a good point about the dates – 1833 vs. 1843. But I must point out that Brighton MI was founded in 1833. The reference I used didn’t say when the name was changed from Brighton to Morenci. It could’ve been after 1843, in which case the name-changers could have been influenced by the name of the County.

      But then again, maybe not. I certainly don’t have a clue. Maybe it was named after the Indians, but then I wouldn’t have had all that fun doing all that research. But now I guess I need to check out Henry Schoolcraft. Here’s what Wiki has to say about his naming adventures in Michigan:

      Schoolcraft named many of Michigan’s counties and locations within the former Michigan Territory. He named Leelanau County, Michigan after his wife’s pen name of “Leelinau”.[13] For those counties established in 1840, he often created faux Indian names. In names such as Alcona, Algoma, Allegan, Alpena, Arenac, Iosco, Kalkaska, Oscoda and Tuscola, for example, Schoolcraft combined words and syllables from Native American languages with words and syllables from Latin and Arabic.[14] Lake Itasca, the source lake of the Mississippi River, is another example of his faux Indian names.

  8. Corinne Morency said

    Hi!

    This post surely never died! 😉

    I’m french canadian from Montréal and my last name is Morency. I was curious about the Morenci Mine and I found your post! My english is not THAT good, but I think it will be understandable :).

    Actually, Morency family, in French Canada, are not linked to the Montmorency family in France. As you said, Montmorency family was a distinguished family but Morency family were normal peasants.The family name Morency was created in Québec when french settlers arrived in North America. The first guy was Guillaume Baucher who were coming from Montmorency close to Paris, exactly the little town that you talked about in your article. When he arrived in Québec, around 1655, he was named Guillaume Baucher dit Montmorency which happened a lot in french Canada (maybe also in english Canada and in U.S.A.? I don’t know!). It later became Baucher dit Morency, but we are not sure why. On the first documents following his arrival it is Baucher dit Montmorency and it became Baucher dit Morency later..maybe because of the illeteracy? or for not being linked to the Montmorency family? Two or three generations later it became only Morency and they removed Baucher. Guillaume Baucher dit Montmorency is the only ancester of all the Morency in french canada…and maybe the Morenci? The letter Y, in french, is pronounce like a e/i, so it could make sense! I know that some Morency moved to US for working in the mines… So maybe this where it came from? Maybe not? I don’t know, just wanted to add some mystery I guess 😉

    Thank you for your article, I will now go read the most recent one haha!

    • graywacke said

      Corinne: Très bien! You’re right about two things – this post will never die, and there will always be a little mystery around the name, although you certainly added some excellent information. Since Guillaume was from Montmorency, the name certainly has a French connection.

      Merci Beaucoup!

      Gregoire

Leave a comment