A Landing a Day

A geography blog where random is king . . .

Riddle, Idaho

Posted by graywacke on January 22, 2009

Never been here before?  Check out “About Landing,” above.

 

Dan –  From West Coast USer (CA) to East Coast USer (ME) to South Border USer (NM) to the USer island in the sea of OS WBers . . . ID; 38/44; 5/10; 2; 165.0.  Wow, quite the run, eh? 

The LG was certainly smiling on me, as I missed NV by just a few miles.  I landed in the Owyhee R basin (6th hit); on to the Snake (58th hit); on to the Columbia (117th hit).

I landed in the SW corner of ID, about equidistant from the towns of Owyhee NV (pop about 1,000) and Riddle ID (pop 145).  Here’s a map:

landing

Here’s a broader view of my landing (it’s the landing closest to the SW corner of ID):

 landing2

Owyhee is in the Duck Valley Indian Reservation (which is located in both ID and NV), and is about 75% Native American.  Of interest, as noted by Wiki, the NV portion of the Reservation is officially in the Pacific Time Zone.  However, the local NV residents have chosen to informally hang with ID and keep the entire Reservation on Mountain Time.  I don’t think I’ve heard of something like this happening anywhere else . . .

Here’s a cool shot of the Owyhee Confectionery, back in the day:

 owyhee-confectionery

And here’s another shot of an Owyhee scene.  It’s a lot greener than I might imagine.

 owyhee-scene

Riddle is totally GD . . .I have found absolutely nothing . . .Moving right along – I just noticed a geographic place name (a very small town?) near my landing:  “Dickshooter.”  Here’s the map, showing Dickshooter north of my landing:

 dickshooter

Here’s some info on Dickshooter:

Dickshooter, Idaho is located in Owyhee County, in the extreme southwest corner of the state. It’s situated between Battle Creek and Deep Creek, about 24 miles northwest of Riddle, Idaho. The rugged, rural area (some have referred to it as desolate wilderness), near the Idaho-Oregon-Nevada border, offers many outdoor recreational opportunities.

Dickshooter received its rather suggestive name from the man — Dick Shooter — who initially established a homestead there.

KS

Greg

© 2008 A Landing A Day

Leave a comment